STROUD DISTRICT COUNCIL

AGENDA ITEM NO

COUNCIL AGM

7

20 MAY 2021

Report Title	APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES			
Purpose of Report	To update the allocation of seats in accordance with the			
	Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and appoint			
	Councillors to committees with effect from 20 May 2021 in			
	response to a change in membership of a political group.			
Decision(s)	The Council RESOLVES to appoint Councillors to the			
	committees and positions set out in the report and agree an			
	additional seat on Environment Committee.			
Consultation and	The proposed appointments have been subject to			
Feedback	consultation with Group Leaders.			
Legal Implications	The Council is required to appoint Councillors to			
	committees in accordance with the proportionality rules.			
Report Author	Jenna Day, Senior Democratic Services & Elections Officer			
-				
	Email: <u>jenna.day@stroud.gov.uk</u>			
Options	Members may make alternative nominations to the places			
-	available on committees subject to compliance with the			
	allocation rules.			
Appendices	Appendix 1 – tables of nominations received			

1. <u>Political Composition</u>: The Council consists of a number of political groupings. The various groups comprise the following Members.

Conservative Group Councillors (19)					
Jason Bullingham	Nick Housden	Loraine Patrick			
Gordan Craig	Nick Hurst	Keith Pearson			
Stephen Davies	Julie Job	Mark Ryder			
Trina Davis	Haydn Jones	Haydn Sutton			
Chris Evans	John Jones	Brian Tipper			
Victoria Gray	David Mossman				
Lindsey Green	een Gill Oxley				
Labour & Cooperative Gro	oup Councillors (15)				
Paula Baker	Helen Fenton	Jenny Miles			
Natalie Bennett	Colin Fryer	Nigel Prenter			
Chris Brine	Jessie Hoskin	Steve Robinson			
Doina Cornell	Trevor Hall	Mattie Ross			
Laurie Davies	Robin Layfield	Ashley Smith			

SDC Liberal Democrat Group Councillors (3)						
George James	George James Ken Tucker Rich Wilsher					
Green Group Councillor	Green Group Councillors (13)					
Beki Aldam	Jonathan Edmunds	Lucas Schoemaker				
Martin Baxendale Steve Hynd		Chloe Turner				
Catherine Braun	Chris Jockel	Tricia Watson				
Martin Brown	Norman Kay					
Kate Crews	Martin Pearcy					

Note: In addition to the above, there is one Independent Member, namely, Councillor Nigel Studdert-Kennedy (known as 'Conservative - No Group').

2. <u>Committees</u>: The committees which are subject to political balance requirements currently comprise the following.

Committee	No. of Members on the committee
Community Services & Licensing	12
Environment	13
Housing	12
Strategy and Resources	13
Audit & Standards	9
Development Control	12

3. <u>Allocations to committees subject to political balance requirements</u>: The seats on each committee must be allocated to each political group as required by the Local Government and Housing Act 1989. On the basis of the existing committee structure, the allocations are as set out below.

Total no. of councillors 51	Conservative (19 Cllrs)	Labour (15 Cllrs)	Liberal Democrats (3 Cllrs)	Green (13 Cllrs)	Total seats available
Community Services & Licensing	4	3	1	4	12
Environment	5	3	1	4	13
Development Control	5	4	0	3	12
Strategy & Resources	5	4	1	3	13
Housing	4	5	0	3	12
Audit & Standards	4	2	1	2	9
Seats to be allocated per Group	27	21	4	19	71

3.2 Each political group was asked to provide its allocations for the committees. The nominations are shown in the tables in Appendix 1 to this report.

The following nominations have been received from the Group Leaders.

Nominations for committee membership

	(a) Audit a	nd Standards Committee	(9 seats)	
Conservative (3 seats)	Labour (2 seats)	Lib Dem (1 seat)	Green (2 seats)	No Group (1 seat)
Keith Pearson	Chris Brine	Rich Wilsher	Martin Pearcy	Nigel Studdert-Kennedy
Stephen Davies	Doina Cornell		Norman Kay	
Nick Hurst				
	(b) Community Se	ervices & Licensing Com	mittee (12 seats)	
Conservative (4 seats)	Labour (4 seats)	Lib Dem (1 seat)	Green (3 seats)	No Group (0 seats)
John Jones	Chris Brine	Ken Tucker	Jonathan Edmunds	
Gordon Craig	Nigel Prenter		Beki Aldam	
Julie Job	Jessie Hoskin		Kate Crews	
Gill Oxley	Steve Robinson			
NB. member	(c) Devel rs must have attended the	opment Control Committ compulsory annual train		on the committee
Conservative (5 seats)	Labour (4 seats)	Lib Dem (0 seats)	Green (3 seats)	No Group (0 seats)
Haydn Jones	Trevor Hall		Martin Baxendale	
Jason Bullingham	Ashley Smith		Lucas Schoemaker	
Victoria Gray	Chris Brine		Martin Brown	
Mark Ryder	Helen Fenton			
Loraine Patrick				

(d) Environment Committee – To agree an increase to (13 seats)					
Conservative (5 seats)	Labour (3 seats)	Lib Dem (1 seat)	Green (4 seats)	No Group (0 seats)	
Haydn Jones	Robin Layfield	George James	Chloe Turner		
David Mossman	Natalie Bennett		Norman Kay		
Brian Tipper	Ashley Smith		Martin Brown		
Trina Davis	•		Tricia Watson		
Chris Evans					
	(a) L	lousing Committee (12 se	nate)		

(e) Housing Committee (12 seats)

Conservative (4 seats)	Labour (5 seats)	Lib Dem (0 seats)	Green (3 seats)	No Group (0 seats)
Lindsey Green	Mattie Ross		Chris Jockel	
Trina Davis	Colin Fryer		Steve Hynd	
Nick Housden	Jenny Miles		Lucas Schoemaker	
Loraine Patrick	Paula Baker			
	Laurie Davies			

(f) Strategy and Resources Committee (13 seats)

- * Automatic appointment on basis of such councillors also being a Group Leader
- ** These appointments are conditional on such councillors being appointed as the Chair of the Community Services & Licensing, Environment or Housing Committees.

Conservative (5 seats)	Labour (4 seats)	Lib Dem (1 seat)	Green (3 seats)	No Group (0 seats)
Stephen Davies*	Doina Cornell*	Ken Tucker*	Catherine Braun*	
Nick Hurst	Mattie Ross**		Chloe Turner**	
Gordon Craig	Chris Brine**		Martin Pearcy	
Keith Pearson	Steve Robinson			
Nick Housden				

Nominations for Chair and Vice Chairs of Committees

Trevor Hall

	(g) Audit	t and Standards Co	mmittee	
Conservative	Labour	Lib Dem	Green	No Group
		CHAIR		
				Nigel Studdert-Kennedy
		VICE-CHAIR		
			Martin Pearcy	
	(h) Community	y Services & Licens	ing Committee	
Conservative	Labour	Lib Dem	Green	No Group
		CHAIR		
	Chris Brine			
		VICE-CHAIR		
			Jonathan Edmunds	
	(i) Deve	lopment Control Co	mmittee	
Conservative	Labour	Lib Dem	Green	No Group
		CHAIR		
			Martin Baxendale	
		VICE CHAIR		

(j) Environment Committee						
Conservative	Labour	Lib Dem	Green	No Group		
		CHAIR				
			Chloe Turner			
		VICE-CHAIR				
		Robin Layfield				
		(k) Housing Committee	ee			
Conservative	Labour	Lib Dem	Green	No Group		
	CHAIR					
	Mattie Ross					
	VICE-CHAIR					
			Chris Jockel			

(I) Strategy and Resources Committee					
Conservative	Labour	Lib Dem	Green	No Group	
	CHAIR				
	Doina Cornell				
VICE CHAIR					
			Catherine Braun		

Appointments to other bodies

Ashley Smith

_					
(i) Health and Care Ove	erview and Scrutiny Commit	tee			
Conservative	Labour	Lib Dem	Green	No Group	
		LEAD			
	Helen Fenton				
		SUBSTITUTE			
	Natalie Bennett				
		·			
(ii) Gloucestershire Police	and Crime Panel				
Conservative	Labour	Lib Dem	Green	No Group	
LEAD					
Keith Pearson	Chris Brine				
SUBSTITUTE					
Lindsey Green			Martin Pearcy		
(iii) Gloucestershire Economic Growth Scrutiny Committee					
Conservative	Labour	Lib Dem	Green	No Group	
LEAD					
			Chloe Turner		
SUBSTITUTE					

(iv) Gloucestershire Covid-19 Outbreak Engagement Board					
Conservative	Labour	Lib Dem	Green	No Group	
LEAD					
	Doina Cornell				
SUBSTITUTE					
			Catherine Braun		

Appoint <u>three</u> Mental Health Champions

Mental Health Champions					
Conservative	Labour	Lib Dem	Green	No Group	
Victoria Gray	Jenny Miles		Tricia Watson		

Appoint <u>five</u> Equality, Diversity & Inclusion Working Group

Equality, Diversity & Inclusion Working Group					
Conservative	Labour	Lib Dem	Green	No Group	
Gill Oxley	Robin Layfield		Norman Kay		
	Natalie Bennett		Beki Aldam		